There was a record turnout of 117 teams for the annual Sri Chinmoy 3 x 1 Mile Relay race at the Meadows in Edinburgh on Wednesday with PH Racing Club fielding 7 teams.


With the traditional pineapple prizes up for grabs, both the Men’s A team and the Women’s team finished in second place behind strong trios from local club Edinburgh AC with the V60 team also among the pineapples.

The A team was lead off by Dan Monaghan who equalled his mile best timing at 4:47 to hand over to junior athlete Andrew Thomson in seventh position.  Thomson sped round the loop in 4:53 making up four places before Paul Kieran took over.  Kieran brought the team home in second with 4:46, the club’s fastest lap of the day.  This was the club’s best result and fastest time of 14:26 at the event having finished eighth then fifth in the past two years.


The Ladies team were equally impressive with Karen Kennedy getting them off to a good start with a run of 5:35.  Robyn Morrocco can be pleased with her performance in her first race in some time and Alison McGill recorded 5:28 but was just unable to catch the last leg runner from Edinburgh AC, losing out by a mere second.


Last but not least when it comes to prizes, the V60 team of John Crookston, Allen Marr and Ian Johnston successfully defended the category prize won last year, showing once again the strength that PH have in this age group.  First runner Crookston was the fastest of the three, breaking his own club record from the same event last year with a time of 5:26.  He was followed by Marr (5:48) and Johnston (6:05).


The V50 team of Alan Cockburn (5:30), Malcolm Smith (6:02) and Iain Taylor (5:37) enjoyed a tussle with their slightly older teammates but won out eventually by just ten seconds.

There were a number of other good performances as well.  The Men’s B team of Robert Sellar, Martin Butcher and Colin Somerville also placed in the top 10 overall with Sellar’s time of 4:50 the quickest of the three.  The C team of Bryan Innes, Wright Beveridge and Chris Stuart, running perhaps his first mile race, and certainly his first for PH, managed a creditable 20th place with Innes the fastest in 5:11.  The D team was made up of Scott Love, Aaron Bennet and finally Darran Neilson, making his mile debut, and timing at 5:31 for a good first attempt at the distance.

Well done to all and thanks to Adrian Stott, his team from Run and Become and all the other helpers for putting on a superb and well organised event.  Thanks also to Karen Thomson and Ross Bennet for the excellent photographs.