With Dunfermline’s Pittencrieff Park suitable only for ice-skating, there was a late change of plan and Saturday’s PH Racing Club’s Festive parkrun was switched to Kirkcaldy. Beveridge Park had not completely escaped the ice however and the run took place over their alternative 2.5 lap route, similar to that used for Fife AC’s Friday night races.

PH’s Ben Hukins was first home in exactly 16 minutes, just 16 seconds off his own Kirkcaldy record, retaining his Festive parkrun trophy. Colin Somerville was second in 17.08 with Dan Monaghan continuing the form he has shown at cross country to bag a new PB of 17.29 in third and complete a PH 1-2-3.

The change of venue no doubt contributed to a slightly lower than expected turnout but there were another eight PH finishers with Keith Vandermotten, Allen Marr and Ed Norton all finishing first in their respective age categories.

Thank you to run director Andrew Aird, Jimmy McIntyre and all the other volunteers who went out of their way to ensure the event could take place and communicate this.

Later at East End Park our first ever Club Championship Awards took place with President Stevie Ogg presenting the parkrun trophy to Ben Hukins followed by the main championship presentations to Colin Somerville and Mary Western. Robert Sellar was the deserving recipient of the prize in the hard-fought V40 category while Ian Johnston picked up the V60 award.  We were then treated to an entertaining speech from men’s captain Colin before our Christmas party night.

At Sunday’s Pitreavie AAC Jingle Bell Race, also run over a revised course due to flooding, Tommy Lawrence and Karen Kennedy finished as second male and female, narrowly avoiding winning a massage from Tommy himself! Tommy completed the 4.4km course in 16.46 with Karen eleventh overall in 18.15. Ed Norton retained his V60 prize for the third year finishing in 19 minutes dead.

Well done to all PH athletes both for this weekend’s racing and a very competitive year in the Club Championship. The 2018 Championship will begin on New Year’s Day at the Portobello Promathon.