On Saturday, before our Christmas Night Out, we held our second Club Championship Awards at The City Hotel in Dunfermline.  There were prizes for all who completed the required eight events on the Club Championship as well as for that morning’s Festive parkrun at Lochore Meadows.


First up was Kristin Lownie, who, despite only joining the club in June, went on to claim the Women’s title with a score of 398 out of a possible 400.  As well at the Club Championship shield she was presented with the PH Racing Club Festive Parkrun trophy for being the highest placed member that morning.

There were 12 males who completed at least eight championship races over the season with Darren Jubb coming out top overall with a perfect score of 400 confirmed back in August.  Last year’s champion Colin Somerville (392) had to settle for second place this year with Jonathan Peebles (389) again picking up third prize.  The male Festive Parkrun winner was Andrew Wright.

Robert Sellar (387) retained the V40 crown ahead of Johnny Cassells (369) and Wright Beveridge (368). In the V60 category, John Crookston (355) took the main prize ahead of Ian Johnston (321) and Ed Norton (320) after a fine season.

Dan Monaghan was 4th  overall and only 2 points outside the places with a score of 387.   Others who completed the championship were Scott Love (364 points) and Niall Balloch (345).

The 2019 Club Championship starts on New Years Day at the Portobello Promathon and this year’s top 3 can perhaps expect some stiffer competition next year.  Dan Monaghan has been racking up some wins against them towards the end of the year along with Paul Kieran who was snookered with an injury soon after joining the club but still picked up 147 points from 3 races.

In the ladies competition only six races will be required next year and we can expect a good challenge once again from Karen Kennedy and also from new member Alison McGill and others.