PH Racing Club fielded an impressive 18 teams at the Ravenscraig Park 2 x 1 mile relays on Tuesday evening in Kirkcaldy resulting in a highly successful evening for the club.

Ben Hukins and Ryan Lafferty put in a tremendous race with Ben leading after the opening leg and Ryan consolidating that position to ensure first place overall in 9.38. Racing Club’s Darren Jubb and Michael Combe were also in top form placing 2nd in 9.55. Dundee Hawkhill’s Ryan and James Donald took 3rd spot in 9.56.


The excellent evening for PH continued with Jonathan Peebles and Colin Somerville placing 4th overall in 10.02 followed by Wright Beveridge and Roger Clark finishing 6th and leading Male 40 team in 10.21. Dean Milne and Campbell Hutt ran well clocking 10.32 in 7th position while Scott Love and Andy Jannetta were 8th in 10.57. Stuart Mackay and Mary Western took the first mixed team award timing at 10.58 in 9th position ensuring that PH recorded 7 teams in the first ten finishers.

Jonny Cassells and Iain Taylor finished 11th and 2nd Male 40 team in 11.04 while Martin McNellis partened Alan Gibson (unattached) to take the 1st Male 50 award in 11.15. PH junior pairing of Daniel Smith and Adam Vallance put in a strong effort finishing 3rd in their age category and 16th overall in 11.16. Alan Cockburn and Ian Johnston were the next Racing Club duo to complete the two mile distance, placing 18th in 11.31.  Ed Norton teamed up with Allen Marr of Anster Haddies to win the Male 60 prize in 21st place in 11.43.

Karen Kennedy and Suzy Goodall ran a great race finishing 2nd ladies team overall and leading Female 40 team in 11.37. The ladies event was won by Edinburgh AC under 13 athletes Katie and Emma Johnston in an excellent 11.29 with Carnegie’s Kristin Lownie and Jo Murphy placing 3rd in 11.46.

The PH performances continued to glow with Alex Keenan and Keith Vandermotten clocking 11.53 (26th). Hannah Devey and Scott Blyth were 28th in 12.01, Stevie Ogg and Robert Milton, 29th in 12.20, Natalie Brown and Wallace Mitchell, 32nd in 12.31, Rachel Drummond and Zoe Stuart, 34th and 5th ladies team in 12.41, Brian Abbot and Arron Leitch, 36th in 12.52 followed by Lorraine Abbot and Catherine Simpson who were 61st in 16.18.

Very well done to everyone who took part and thanks to Dan Newman and team for organising and to Andy Lafferty and Sasha McIntyre for the race photos.