Strathclyde Park welcomed over 350 runners, including 11 PH Racing Club athletes for the annual Tom Scott 10 Mile Memorial Race on Sunday morning.  The event incorporated the Scottish National 10 Mile Championships as well as the 5th counter in the PH Club Championships.

The event was won by Lachlan Oates (Shettleston Harriers) in a time of 49:15 with Elspeth Curran (Kilbarchan) occupying the top position in the female race, finishing in 56:00.

Karen Kennedy was the sole PH athlete in the ladies race and she did not disappoint, clocking a new best of 64:15 to finish 13th female and winning a Scottish Athletics masters bronze medal.  This result was also a new club record and moved her into pole position in the PH Club Championship.

Darren Jubb was the leading PH male athlete clocking 56:05 in 24th position while club mate Michael McConnell was hot on his heels covering his ten miles in 56.09 and placing 25th. There was another club battle a minute back with Daniel David Monaghan timing at 57:22 for 33rd and overcoming Colin Somerville who was 10 seconds behind in 34th position.

In the V40 category Graeme Doig was quickest of the PH trio with a new club age category record of 58:24, while Johnny Cassells (60:32) edged out Wright Beveridge (60:48).  Iain Taylor set a new V50 club record of 62:02 to finish 7th in his age category while Ian Johnston completed the course in 70:06 to place 6th V60.

Meanwhile another three team mates took part in the annual Alloa Half Marathon.  Graeme McInnes lead the way with an excellent new personal best of 86:47.  Joe Wilson can be pleased with his first outing over the distance with a mark of 88:11 while David Henderson finished in 89:02.

Last, but by no means least, Pete Simpson was first over sixty at Saturday’s Birnam Hill Race, scooping a V60 prize within a fortnight of stepping up into this new category.

Well done to all and thanks to Bobby Gavin/The One Moment for the race photo.